Gluten belongs to the family of proteins and is found in grains like wheat, rye, and barley. It consists of glutenin and gliadin, which are mainly responsible for a few adverse health effects. Several people quickly develop a sensitivity or allergy towards gluten, resulting in health problems such as celiac disease or wheat allergy.
Recommended Read: Will Going Gluten-Free Make You Healthier?
Since gluten is associated with no nutrients, it can be easily avoided. Straight yes/no answers may not be available for certain foods for the presence of gluten in them. A gluten-free diet can help those with celiac disease or those with non-celiac gluten sensitivity.
The FODMAP diet and gluten-free foods list have several overlaps. Fruits, vegetables, legumes, meat, fish, poultry and meat-free substitutes without batter or bread make up this list.
Recommended Read: Gluten-free Snack Recipes To Control Blood Sugar
However, gluten appears in a few unexpected items. Gluten is in fact, added to meat or protein products in commercial packaging and processing. Gluten is also present in seasoning blends. It is necessary to check the labels to find out if a gluten-free diet is a priority or necessity.
Read on to learn about some unexpected sources of gluten you would never have guessed!
You might be wondering, how can ice-cream contain gluten? Well, it most definitely can. It is made of wheat ingredients like wheat starch, malt, and artificial coloring or flavoring. Multiple brands make sure they create gluten-free ice-creams. But it is always recommended to check before consuming.
Now, this can create trouble, given the fact that oats are one of the healthiest dietary supplements and a favorite among dieticians and people. However, not all oats are gluten-free. Contamination of oats happens in the fields when oats are grown alongside wheat, or even processed in the same machine as wheat. While it is not easy to identify, one can check the label for a gluten-free certification.Gluten sensitive people must check and avoid molasses and brown sugar-flavored varieties that possibly contain wheat-bearing caramel coloring, a transparent source of gluten.
An essential Asian ingredient, soy sauce surprisingly has gluten in it. Though Soya bean is part of the gluten-free foods list, the sauce made of soybeans is not gluten-free. The beans are steamed, fragmented and aged while adding wheat for aroma and sweetness. The next process is chemical hydrolysis, that breaks down complex proteins including gluten into amino acids and polypeptides. Hence, one needs to check the label to obtain a gluten-free version of this Asian delight.
Everyone loves chocolate. Unfortunately, it is one of the foods with gluten that those with a gluten allergy or celiac disease must avoid. The crispy bits of caramel in the chocolate also have gluten in them.Why is chocolate included in the list of foods that contain gluten? The reason is that chocolates are processed in the same equipment as other wheat-based ingredients. In fact, the cocoa powder, hot cocoa mix, and the sprinkles may also contain gluten. It can also be present as a thickening agent in chocolates.
The yellow condiment is used more often in Indian households as a spice for seasoning. However, plenty of mustard sauce is used for sandwich spreads or flavoring, which may contain malt vinegar.The food processors or manufacturers commonly practice the addition of wheat flour to this stuff, and hence it is always better to use dry mustard in food if required if gluten sensitivity is an issue.
Most people may not know that the barbequed or honey baked versions of deli meats are blends, which are derived from wheat starch. Hence, such foods are not free from gluten either.
You must check brand labels for the presence of wheat-based fillers to avoid their consumption. Of course, gluten-free foods can get contaminated during food processing.
Yes, alcohol makes it to the list foods with gluten too. Different varieties of alcohol that commonly consist of gluten are whiskey, bourbon, and rye. People who have gluten allergies can opt for cider, wine, rum, and tequila.
Recommended Read: 5 Recipes For Meals to Make With Red Wine Sauce
Of course, there are numerous other foods that can be included in the list of foods with gluten. If you’re planning to try out a new food item, then be sure to check whether or not it contains gluten.
Keep yourself updated with the latest on Diet and Nutrition. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for more on Health, Fitness and Health Recipes. Also, check out our Health Tools and try out our health-related Quizzes.